The Commonwealth Of The Bahamas

We're one of the most politically stable countries in the world. Our constitution is based on the Westminster Model: Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, The Executive Branch, The Legislative Branch, and Judicial Branch.

We are a member of the Commonwealth of Nations, all former British colonies, and recognize Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II as our Head of State. Her Majesty’s representative is the Governor-General. Our Cabinet constitutes the executive branch and has control over our Government. The Cabinet is comprised of at least nine Ministers inclusive of the Prime Minister and Attorney General.

Parliament constitutes our Legislative Branch, which is made up of a Senate and a House of Assembly. Subject to the provision of our Constitution, Parliament may make laws for peace, order and good government.

More About Our Government

More About The Bahamas