There are 110 nominees for the 18 categories for the 17th Cacique Awards and according to the Blue Ribbon Panel selection committee; this represents more nominees than ever before.

The purpose of the Cacique Awards is to recognize the roles played by those individuals and organizations whose performance or products have consistently made a positive impact on the quality and the growth of tourism in The Bahamas.

Two new categories have been added this year - the Blue Ribbon Panel Award and the Wilfred “Willie” Love Knowles Tourism awards.

During a press conference held at the British Colonial Hilton on Thursday, February 16, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Tourism and Chairman of the Cacique Awards Charles Albury said the Cacique Awards go beyond the sun, sand and sea of The Bahamas.

“The reason why the Ministry of Tourism created the Cacique Awards was to hold up exemplary service and celebrate it,” he said.

“This is what sets our destination a part of from the rest.”

Blue Ribbon Panel Chairwoman Angela Cleare said the guiding principles of selecting the winners are transparency and objectivity.

“As we continue to emphasize, any country can boast the most magnificent hotel properties, world-class visitor attractions and exclusive restaurants but it will count for nothing without the human element – the outstanding service quality which exceeds guest expectations. Guests are looking for value,” she said.

“The overall goal of our industry is to distinguish The Bahamas as a tourist destination that is synonymous with excellence in service and the Cacique Awards are designed to recognize, celebrate and award excellence.”

The 17th Cacique Awards Finalists are:


Harry Strachan- Nassau

Duke Davis-Harbour Island

Milton Strachan-Exuma

Cecil Rose Sports and Leisure

Chris Brown – Nassau

Neal Watson’s Bimini Scuba –Bimini

Lincoln Jones- Abaco

Special Events

Island Roots Heritage Festival –Abaco

Abaco Love Rush Junkanoo Parade-Abaco

Local Airlines and Tour Operators

Juan Moss for Leisure Travel and Tours- Nassau

Tennielle Bullard for Southern Air Charter-Nassau

Human Resources Development

Evelyn Pinder-Dames-Grand Bahama

Della Bridgewater-Grand Bahama

Sustainable Tourism

Shaun Ingraham –Eleuthera

Friends of the Environment- Abaco

Keith Cooper- Grand Bahama

Creative Arts

Junkanoo Commandos- Nassau

Kevin Tomlinson-Grand Bahama

Destination Abaco-Abaco


Strawtacular Designs by Rove (Roganna Wilchcombe and Vernetta Frifth-Grand Bahama

Androsia Batik –Andros

Veronica Ferguson-Eleuthera

The Minister’s Award

Wilfred Solomon-Grand Bahama

Antoinette Brown-Rolle – Bimini

Ethlyn C. Major – Grand Bahama

The Clement T. Maynard Lifetime Achievement Award

Enrico Garzaroli

Blue Ribbon Panel Cacique Award

Phil Stubbs –Grand Bahama

Willie Love Hospitality Award

Wilfred Knowles-Grand Bahama

The People’s Choice Award is the award given to secular and gospel categories after the public votes. The deadline for nominations is March 3.

People’s Choice Nominees Are:

Secular Category:

Muggle – Bahamian Trae

Teef-Bahamian Trae

TKO- M Deez

In Da Air – DMAC

Digg Up - Fanshawn

Gospel Category

Don't wait until the battle is over-Shaback

I've Won-Washington Williams

God Is The Boss-Rocky & Uncle Sam

I'm Still Here -Lyrically Blessed

I'm a Warrior- Apostle Edison& Prophetess Nattie Nottage

International Categories will be revealed during the Cacique Awards. They include Tour Operator/ Travel Agent of the Year; Travel Writer of the Year; Cruise Line of the Year and Airline of the Year.

Tickets for the 17th Cacique Awards will go on sale on Monday. Tickets are $50 and will be available for purchase at the Ministry of Tourism.

The awards will be held on April 8th at the Baha Mar Convention Center on Cable Beach.

Media Contact: Kendea Smith | | 242-397-2786